Get to Know the Dingman Center: Megan McPherson

This summer we will be featuring our current Dingman Center staff in a special blog series. Read along and get to know a little more about each member of our team!

DSC_7677resized.png

Megan McPherson, Events & Marketing Coordinator

I, Megan McPherson, have been your humble narrator for this blog all along, so allow me to abandon the third-person pretense. Hello, dear readers! I joined the Dingman Center in January 2016 to bring a fresh creative energy to the Center’s events and marketing activities. My duties include coordinating logistics for events like spark: Where Fearless Ideas Start, Pitch Dingman Competition and the Rudy Awards; running social media and the blog; creating and supervising the creation of print and digital marketing materials; drafting and sending e-vites and newsletters (subscribe to The Pitch!); and more. As the staff’s resident quirky nerd, I take pride in my work when I can let my personality show through while telling the Center’s story. Through revealing myself, I want to encourage entrepreneurs to strive for honesty within themselves and what they want to achieve, and to portray the Dingman Center as an inclusive space where Terps are encouraged to get their hands dirty and explore both the ups and downs of entrepreneurship.

What excites you most about your job?

I really enjoy learning the stories of each student entrepreneur who comes through the Center. We are privileged at the Dingman Center to work with some of the most passionate, self-motivated students at University of Maryland, and I am constantly inspired and energized to be in their presence. Whenever I can use the Dingman Center’s channels as a platform to showcase their talents and drive, it’s very fulfilling to me.

What are your favorite hobbies?

I double majored in Film and Japanese in college, and both of those interests are still a big part of my life. My evenings usually involve me absorbing a lot of media new and old across many platforms—film, TV, books, and video games. Cooking is another big love of mine, and I especially enjoy inviting my friends over for Game of Thrones feasts. When I feel creatively inspired, I like to paint as well.

If you could visit one place on earth, where would it be and why?

As a major Tolkien nerd, I’m going to say New Zealand. I’ve always wanted to do the Lord of the Rings tour and see Hobbiton in real life. And fangirling aside, it’s a beautiful country.

What’s the most interesting thing you have in your office?

This is hard, as I have a number of posters, figures and plushies that remind me of my favorite things and inspire me. But one thing that I’ve had in every office I’ve worked in is my ever-growing collection of Daenerys Targaryen Funko Pop! figures. Most have been gifted to me by former co-workers who enjoyed supporting my silly affinity with the Mother of Dragons. She serves as a daily reminder that if a teenager can command armies to conquer Westeros, I can probably handle our busy fall semester.

If you could have dinner with one person (dead or alive), who would it be?

I’m tempted to list a lot of different people, but for the moment I’m going to say David Lynch, since I am really enjoying the groundbreaking Twin Peaks: The Return, and in general I admire just how unabashedly weird his vision is. Unlike many famous artistic personas, he also seems like an approachable, kind person. I’d love to talk to him about his creative process over coffee and pie.

What would your super power be?

This is pretty overpowered, but teleportation. I’m constantly looking at photos of places around the world and wishing I could go there without the hassle and expense of air-travel.

Leave a Reply

